致顶

Harrison Law Office EB5

(415) 857-2230

EB-5 投资移民签证


一、投资人签证的基本信息

投资人签证(又称EB-5签证项目)是由美国国会发明的,旨在通过移民的投资者创造工作机会和进行资本投资来促进美国经济发展。这一项目的创新是国会第一次为投资移民者开通合法永久居住权利的通道,并且也是唯一一个这一的项目。EB-5签证可用于投资100万美元或某种情况下50万美元新商业企业的非美国居民,并且该商业企业至少雇佣10名全职员工。该项目每年大概为移民投资人预留10000个新的EB-5签证。

除去标准项目外,还有区域中心项目,这个项目是1993年创造的,旨在吸引更多的投资人申请EB-5永久居留权。由于其要求更灵活,这一项目更容易吸引投资者。区域中心项目允许“区域中心”赞助的投资项目,“间接工作”也算规定的员工数量,这样一来,就放松了创造工作机会的要求。

由于EB-5签证项目有了大量改进,投资者对投资签证更感兴趣。签发的EB-5签证数量从2010年的1885增加到2013年的8567。此外,EB-5签证的高通过率也吸引了大量投资人。历史上来看,每年通过大约80-85%的EB-5签证。考虑到没有签证配额积压从而等待时间较短以及其高通过率,EB-5签证成为有经济资源那些人申请美国永久居住权的一个重要选择。

二、 标准项目下申请投资签证必须具备的资格

为了符合标准项目下获得EB-5签证的条件,投资人需要符合6个要求:

1. 投资金额要求
一般来说,投资人需要最少投资100万美元。然而,对于在“有针对性的就业领域”投资的人来说,其下限为50万美元。该区域包括郊区和高失业区域。

2. 可接受的投资类型
投资必需通过出资的方式进行以使投资符合EB5项目的条件。可接受的投资方式包括:

i.   现金
ii.  现金等价物
iii.  财产清单
iv.  设备
v.  其他有形资产
vi.  由投资人拥有资产担保的债务

3. 通过合法方式获得的投资资金
投资者需要证明投资的资金来源合法。通过合法方式获得的资金都是可以接受的,包括继承,捐赠,贷款,合法收入,商业销售额,房产或股票。

4. 创造的工作要求
企业需至少为10名工人创造全职工作。合格的工人包括美国居民和合法的移民工人。

5. 可接受的企业类型
投资人需投资合法企业。两种可接受的企业包括“新商业企业”和“困难企业”。

i. 新商业企业
新商业企业指的是1990年11月29号之后建立的企业。该日期之前建立的企业也可称为新,条件是(1)投资者够没和重组一个现存企业;(2)投资者投资现存企业,并引起现存企业的巨大改变。如果该企业的投资带来40%的净值或雇员数量40%的增长,可被认为经历“巨大改变。”

ii. 困难企业
困难企业指的是已经存在至少两年,其净值亏损20%及以上。困难企业不要求投资增长10个新工作。对困难企业的投资仅需要维持之前投资的雇员数量。

6. 管理要求
EB-5投资者需要通过日常管理控制或者制定政策参与企业管理。适当的政策制定位置包括公司官员,董事会数量和有限的合伙人。不允许“纯粹的被动角色”。

三、申请区域中心项目的投资人签证

如上所述,国会放松了区域中心项目的EB-5签证要求,旨在吸引更多的投资者申请EB-5永久居住权。区域中心项目有两个显著特征:1)投资者无需开展自己的商业,只要由美国的区域中心批准即可;2)创造的工作可以包括“直接工作”和“间接工作”。下面将详细讨论这些特征。

1. 投资人需在批准的区域中心进行投资
投资人无需开始自己的商业,只需要在批准的区域中心进行投资即可。政府指定的投资区域能够促进美国某特定区域的经济增长,创造工作机会。目前,尚有许多选择可能,因为在美国境内的40个州,有超过170个批准区域。

2. 创造的工作机会可以包括直接和间接工作
区域中心项目的一个重要优势是,创造的工作可以为“间接”工作,其比“直接”工作更容易实现。间接工作无需直接与投资项目相关。例如,EB-5项目中的某些建筑工作或商业活动下的工作可以作为这10个工作要求。因此,EB-5投资者在区域中心项目下,可以使用“间接”工作的优势,从而更加容易就实现EB-5签证的要求。

四、填写投资人签证申请

完成I-526申请和相关文件后,投资人需要填写USCIS申请。一旦被批准,投资人即可获得通过海外领事处理或调整美国内的身份获得条件性永久居住权。

在哈里森律师事务所,我们可以在整个EB-5过程中帮助您和您的家庭。请拨打电话(415) 857-2651预约免费咨询。

联系我们

150 Post St, Suite 442
San Francisco, CA 94108
  (415) 857-2230
  mail@eb5lawsanfrancisco.com

发送信息

Contact form submitted!
We will be in touch soon.

TOP

SevenSky

(415) 857-2651

EB-5 Visa


I. Basic Information About the Investor Visa

The Immigrant Investor Program, also known as the EB-5 visa program, was created by the United States Congress to stimulate the U.S. economy through job creation and capital investment by immigrant investors. The creation of the program was the first time that Congress facilitated a path to lawful permanent residency specifically for immigrant investors and remains the only program to do so. The EB-5 visa is available to non-U.S. citizens who invest $1,000,000, or in certain circumstances $500,000, in a new commercial enterprise that employs at least 10 U.S. workers full-time. The program sets aside approximately 10,000 new EB-5 visas for immigrant investors each year.

In addition to the “standard program” there is also the “Regional Center Program” which was created in 1993 to attract more investors to apply for EB-5 permanent residency. Investors are particularly attracted to the Regional Center Program because the requirements are more flexible. The Regional Center Program allows for investment in projects sponsored by “regional centers” and relaxes the job creation requirement by allowing “indirect jobs” to count toward the requisite number of workers.

With substantial improvements made to the EB-5 visa program, investors have become increasingly more interested in the investor visa. The number of EB-5 visas issued increased from 1,885 in 2010 to 8,567 in 2013. Additionally, the high approval rate for EB-5 visas is attractive to investors. Historically, about 80 to 85 percent of EB-5 visas are approved each year. Taking the high approval rate into account with short wait times due to no visa quota backlog, the EB-5 visa is a great option to obtain permanent residency in the United States for those who have the financial resources.

II. Qualifying for the Investor Visa Under the Standard Program

To qualify for an EB-5 visa under the standard program, the investor will need to meet six requirements:

A. Investment Amount Requirement
Generally speaking, an investor will need to make a minimum investment of $1,000,000. However, the limit is lowered to $500,000 for investments made in "targeted employment areas." These areas include rural areas and areas experiencing high unemployment.

B. Acceptable Types of Investments
For an investment to qualify for the EB-5 program, the investment must take the form of a contribution of capital. Acceptable investments for EB- 5 purposes include:

i.   Cash
ii.  Cash equivalents
iii.  Inventory
iv.  Equipment
v.  Other tangible property
vi.  Indebtedness secured by assets owned by the investor

C. Investment Capital Obtained Through Lawful Means
The investor will need to show that the invested capital came from a legitimate source. Funds obtained by any lawful means are acceptable, including inheritance, gifts, loans, lawful income, and the sale of a business, real estate or stock.

D. Job Creation Requirement
The enterprise will need to create full-time employment for at least 10 U.S. workers. Qualifying employees include United States citizens and authorized immigrant workers.

E. Acceptable Types of Enterprises
The investor must invest in a qualifying enterprise. The two types of acceptable enterprises are "new commercial enterprises" and "troubled businesses."

i. New commercial enterprise
A new commercial enterprise is one that was established after November 29, 1990. An enterprise established before this date can also be considered "new" if (1) the investor buys and reorganizes an existing enterprise or (2) the investor invests in an existing enterprise which results in a substantial change to the business. An enterprise is deemed to have undergone "substantial change" if the investment results in either a 40% increase in net worth or number of employees.

ii. Troubled business
A troubled business is one that has been in existence for at least two years and experienced a 20% or greater loss in net worth. The creation of 10 new jobs is not required for an investment in a troubled business. An investment in a troubled business need only sustain the number of employees prior to the investment.

F. Management Requirement
The EB-5 investor must be involved in the management of the enterprise either through daily managerial control or through policy making. Adequate policy formulation positions include corporate officers, members of the board of directors, and limited partners. A “purely passive role” is not permitted.

III. Qualifying for the Investor Visa Under the Regional Center Program

As mentioned, Congress relaxed the requirements to obtain the EB-5 visa under the Regional Center Program to attract more investors to apply for EB-5 permanent residency. Two distinguishing characteristics of the Regional Center Program are that 1) the investor will not need to start their own business but rather invest in an approved Regional Center in the United States and 2) the job creation requirement can be met with the creation of “direct” and “indirect” jobs. These characteristics are discussed below in more detail.

A. Investor Must Invest in An Approved Regional Center
Rather than taking on the burden of starting a business, the investor will invest in an approved Regional Center. "Regional Centers," designated as such by the government, promote economic growth and job creation in a specific geographic area in the United States. Currently, there many options to choose from as there are over 170 approved regional centers in 40 states through-out the United States.

B. Job Creation Requirement Allows For Direct and Indirect Jobs
An important advantage to the Regional Center Program is that the job creation requirement can be met with the creation of “indirect” jobs, which are much easier to achieve than “direct” jobs. Indirect jobs do not have to be directly related to the investment project. For example, certain construction jobs or jobs created at other businesses as a result of the EB-5 project can be counted toward the 10 job requirement. Thus, EB-5 investors utilizing the Regional Center Program may take advantage of “indirect” job creation to more easily meet the EB-5 visa requirements.

IV. Filing the Investor Visa Application

Upon completing the I-526 application and accompanying documents, the investor will need to file the petition with USCIS. Once approved, the investor can receive conditional permanent residence by either going through consular processing abroad or adjusting status within the United States.

At Harrison Law Office, we can help you and your family through the entire EB-5 process. Call us today at (415) 857-2651 to schedule a free consultation.

Contact Us

870 Market St., Suite 570
San Francisco, CA 94102
  (415) 857-2651
  mail@eb5lawsanfrancisco.com

Send Message

Contact form submitted!
We will be in touch soon.